Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Bob
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:02 am
Location: Glasgow
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby Bob » Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:09 am

I've been trying to get this working for a while and all the online guides etc all seem to be a bit outdated so don't work with the current builds of kodi?

I think emulators would be a great addition to someone's kodi build, maybe get roms running off a usb or something

Any advice on setting up emulators would be great!



User avatar
tommycahir
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:10 am
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby tommycahir » Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:47 am

Not sure what hardware your running openelec on but if it is a Pi then maybe booting between 2 different sd cards one with Kodi and one with retropie would be an option?
There is some work ongoing to integrate an emulator into the base kodi build but there is no idea when it will be integrated into the main branch build until then there are some test images available @ http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=173361
"One community, many voices"

Website: www.kodicommunity.com

Bob
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:02 am
Location: Glasgow
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby Bob » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:50 am

I'm using a Prometheus HTPC but I had a few attempts at it on an android box and was able to kinda do it by adding an android app as a shortcut but it wasn't linked to rom collection browser or anything so it wasn't right

The HTPC boots straight into kodi and I'm looking to add a snes emulator, I think retroarch is the least user friendly add on I've tried to use and it never worked at all with my set up

It would be ideal if someone could include emulators into a build where you could have rom folders on a USB or similar that you could direct the emulators to but it just never seems that easy!

I just want to play Mario!!!!!

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 6:38 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby admin » Thu Aug 20, 2015 4:30 pm

Hi All,

just spoke with someone who mentioned they thought retroarch is the only compatible emulator for OE.

Cheers

Bob
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:02 am
Location: Glasgow
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby Bob » Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:47 pm

Yeah I think it's meant to be really good once it's up and running, just nobody really knows how to get it working


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 6:38 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby admin » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:56 am

someone yesterday also mentioned Openlec for OSMC much more stable not sure it that helps you.

trevor
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 8:02 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby trevor » Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:51 pm

I have done it on the past. I will see if I can get it working sometime this week.
I am not sure tho. This was in gotham.
If I can get it going I will post a guide. You do have to get the roms yourself and put them on a USB stick

Bob
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:02 am
Location: Glasgow
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby Bob » Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:58 pm

Yeah, I tried that, I tried to set it up a few different ways but think the easiest way for users to use this kinda thing would be to have a USB with roms in folders that you could point the emulator to in settings etc

I had downloaded a snes emulator onto a USB, in its own folder and then roms in a different folder and tried to use advanced launcher to do it pointing at the emulator as the program to use and then the rom folder as the files to open but it was having none of it




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 6:38 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby admin » Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:05 am

Did anyone manage to crack this, certainly interested for HTPC Prometheus style box

Bob
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:02 am
Location: Glasgow
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone got emulators working with openelec?

Postby Bob » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:06 pm

Still no further forward sadly


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Return to “EMULATORS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest